The Faceless Men of the Liberal Party

Frances Jones

By Father Kevin Lee

OK I know people reading this are going to say, “He is suffering from ‘sour grapes,’ but please try to understand. It’s like when you are in love with someone you overlook their flaws (even though you recognise them) and you can become despised enemies after you discover attributes you didn’t realise the other had. My position has changed due to discoveries I never anticipated. So reserve your judgment of me until you read the whole story.

I was a priest for twenty years and was always led to believe that separation of the Church and State was like two parallel lines that never meet, but I was soon to find out that like the celibate clergy, it’s a truth in terms of policy position only, it is not true in fact.

I discovered this painfully in my last parish, Glenmore Park.

In our community was…

View original post 9,753 more words

5 comments on “The Faceless Men of the Liberal Party

  1. A disgruntled Catholic Liberal, with due reason. Politics is dirty, but this dirty. A warning but will former Priest Kevin Lee still vote Liberal?
    Kevin quotes that I liked:
    “I had already made up my mind that the Liberal Party was filled with two-faced pretenders (very much like the Church I had previously ministered in) but on this day, I had promised myself never to have anything to do with party politics again.”

    “If Opus Dei and extreme right wing conservatives are setting the agenda for the Liberal Party, then the Australian people need to know who the Liberal Party is made up of before they elect them into government.”

    I hope not!

  2. It was the extreme religious right that destroyed the NSW Liberals and stopped them getting elected years before they should have.

    David Clarke was instrumental in that so it wasn’t surprising I saw that name appear in Kevin Lee’s piece.

    I was surprised that O’Farrell’s did.

    O’Farrell got deservedly elected as not only was the terrible State Labor government in need of being excised he also moved the Liberals back toward the moderates, the Wets and away from the Uglies. It was the Uglies over and above the Dries who quashed and replaced Liberal moderates in NSW to setup a far right wing religious agenda, one of whose policies was to outlaw homosexuality.

    I know O’Farrell, like all the other State Liberal Premiers, didn’t waste any time in breaking promises and breaking as many as he could and continues to do so. But if it turns out his conservative moderationism is a façade then this needs to be exposed. Australians have a short tolerance of religious interference in their politics.

  3. “OK I know people reading this are going to say, “He is suffering from ‘sour grapes”

    That is exactly what it reads like.

  4. power corrupts absolute power corrupts absolutely, but he was still ready and willing to jump on the bandwagon of convenience…

  5. i think he liked and hoped to see the best of people. But all he saw was the worst of people. He gave them time hoping they would show their best sides. But it never happened ! No sour grapes ! just a realism that people are easily corrupted. And he wanted no part of it. So it was time to walk away.

Leave a Comment

