First man on the Moon

Neil Armstrong, who led the Apollo 11 spacecraft and became the first man to set foot on the Moon, has died at 82.

History will never forget his name.

I will never forget the moment, when as a wide-eyed kid sat in front of the TV staring at the door of the lunar module and watching it slowly open. It was the culmination of a few days of sheer, breathtaking excitement.

Does anybody else remember?

42 comments on “First man on the Moon

  1. It was one of those where we’re you when times. For myself I was teaching at Burnley primary, a very old school of ancient design with only a square of bitumen for children to play..built during the times when it was considered that working class children had better things to do than play. When I was there the population consisted mostly of the children of Greek immigrants, factory workers, and non English speaking. Grades bubs to 4 crowded into the largest classroom, and there we all stood in awe at how wonderful, how marvellous and how brave we humans can be.

  2. Armstrong was chosen to be the first person to step on the moon not only because he was a good aeronautical engineer and a great pilot but because he was unassuming and avoided the limelight. He wasn’t a media hog or arrogant in anyway as the post lunar landing years showed.

    As it turned out this was an inspired choice by NASA.

  3. Oh yes! I remember. And I still get watery eyes when watching TV replays or you tubes of it happening!
    My grandchildren are now wondering if a man will walk on the moon in THEIR lifetime!

  4. Another nation on the moon would perhaps do the US a service, that if they don’t go back to their original principles of enterprise that it will hasten what they are becoming, and quickly..an empire in decline as compared with the emerging powers.

  5. A slush fund that no one had any problem with. The problem was that it is alleged, and I say alleged, that someone took it upon themselves to rip it off.

    The house was sold for a profit down the track. Little wrong there, as far as I can see.

    With all the noise, we need t remember after extensive investigation by police and other agencies, no one was charged.

    We have those who are making the noise, sadly saying that tow or three investigators will continue to dig in Victoria. Surely this money could be better spent. Maybe why the print media is in trouble.

  6. South Hurstville primary. I was 8 years old in front of the Tele with all the kids and our teach explained and drew a diagram on the black board of what was happening. I watched mezmorised at this feat. It’s so vivid in my mind and to this day defines the iconic look of the space age. RIP Neil. I heard s man called Armstrong walked upon the moon.

  7. A remarkable life led…. anyone alive today who was around then wil be remembering ‘that’ day when we all came together as one people watching one of ‘our’ own do the ‘ possible’……… vale Niel Armstrong, the 1st Earthman.

  8. I wonder what he thought about all those people who reckoned it was all a hoax.

    You humans …. :mrgreen:

  9. TB, I reckon non-humans were there before Neil Armstrong was. NASA is keeping something from us.

    Just my opinion.

  10. I also have the opinion that the presence of non-human intelligence on our own globe is kept from us by NASA. That is, intelligent beings not of this world.

  11. Möbius, no self respecting alien being would want to own up to that pair…however they do go to prove the theory that life can evolve from pond scum..

  12. I know exactly where I was at the time of the moon landing….just don’t ask me about yesterday….

  13. That is, intelligent beings not of this world.

    If only, Migs … I’ll send a message to, The Mothership …

    … you humans … :mrgreen:

    BTW … please inform, Mr Ecko, The Crew may find his comment above somewhat insulting to, Our Leader … :mrgreen:

    Peace to you all … even MIn … 😉

  14. Handyrab, you remind me of a story about old George, 82.

    George’s eyes weren’t as good as they once were and bemoaned to his wife that he may be forced to give up his beloved golf.

    She suggested that she take along her brother Fred. Although just a few weeks shy of his 85th birthday Fred had remarkably good eye sight for his age.

    “You could hit the ball and Fred can tell you where it went”.

    It was a great idea and George took Fred along for his next game.

    After teeing off George teed off and turned to Fred: “Did you see where it went?”

    “Yep”, replied Fred.

    “Where?”

    “I can’t remember”.

    :mrgreen:

  15. I’ll happily admit to sitting on the floor in a school room watching it on Black & White TV and I was roughly the same age as Rickypann.

    The Armstrong family statement on this sad occasion is wonderful

    For those who may ask what they can do to honour Neil, we have a simple request. Honour his example of service, accomplishment and modesty, and the next time you walk outside on a clear night and see the moon smiling down at you, think of Neil Armstrong and give him a wink.

    http://www.abc.net.au/news/2012-08-26/first-man-on-moon-neil-armstrong-dead-at-82/4223190

    RIP Neil Armstong – you were an inspiration to millions

  16. 2353, it does indeed feel to be the passing of an era. Let us us hope that the memory of these people and the only name which seems to be appropriate is pioneers, of space continues to provide enduring inspiration.

  17. Back to the moon landing. I was in sixth form (year 12). Six of us decided to nick off from school and watch it at one of the guy’s house. We all jumped in a morris minor (I was the shortest so I got to sit between the bucket seats in the front. We roared off up the hill past the school at the terrifying pace of 5 miles per hour. In those days nicking off from school (even in year 12) was severely frowned upon. Everyone ‘sort of’ ducked down as we passed the Admin office.
    We made it to the house undetected but, as we were settling down to watch the TV a teacher’s car pulled up outside. Well, we scattered! A teacher lived across the road (which we knew) and had been sick for a while…the other teacher was simply visiting. (We didn’t realise, in those days, that teachers had feelings.
    Panic over, we all sat, eyes glued to the B&W TV.
    A truly memorable time

  18. rab at the school I attended they setup a TV on a bureau in a corner and made all us kids sit on the floor in total silence and watch the landing. My vague memory was that we thought it was good as it was time out of class watching TV, which in those days was a privilege for kids on most households.

    I remember becoming fascinated and then totally engrossed in the too enormous to ponder thing that was unfolding on the TV.

  19. Mo, I can’t recall watching a TV in high school. I don’t think there were any.
    So unlike the Melbourne Cup that was broadcast a across the internal PA system, the only way was to watch the landing was elsewhere.

  20. Likewise handyrab. We were all sent home to watch – no TVs at school. Except I was in primary school 😉

  21. ‘Rab, because I was 16 when I did my matriculation, started school age 4 then 6 months in preps and 6 months in grade 1.

  22. We were sent home from school so we could watch the landing, and two hours later finally see the door to the module open.

    But I was always being sent home from school anyway. Might have had something to do with me being a terminal ragbag.

    On the other days I’d wag.

  23. I remember lots of things from a very young age.

    I remember I was 10 when I lost my virginity. Didn’t enjoy it much though. I was too pissed.

  24. Migs, “I remember I was 10 when I lost my virginity. Didn’t enjoy it much though. I was too pissed”. 😯 ….. ahh, every
    Port Fan’s nightmare…… so now we know…… :mrgreen: 👿
    ……

Leave a Comment

