Aside

When I was 12  I calculated that I would be 49 by the year 2000. It seemed so far away!

It’s now 2012, and if your are as astute with sums as I was at 12, you’ll know I am now over 60.

With this in mind, and encouraged by others, this week I applied for a NSW Government Seniors Card.

Now to get this little slice of welfare you have to be over 60 (I don’t look it!) and work less than 20 hours a week (that’s enough for me).

There are no questions about how much money you have in the bank, shares etc (I have none).

With the card (if it is approved) I can travel practically anywhere on public transport for $2.50. And probably get a discount from any number of stores such as KFC. Can’t wait.

I haven’t checked out all the magnificent thing I’ll be able to do with this card, or how much money I will be able to save. I suppose I will find out when the card arrives.

But this benefit must cost the NSW Government heaps There appears to be no means testing, with the only requirement being you’re over 60 and don’t work too much.

Anyway, I look forward to a $2.50 return trip to the pub at Brooklyn (normal price $6.80) for beers and lunch (and should I admit it, $50 in the pokies) with an old mate. And although the saving won’t go close to paying for another schooner I’ll probably feel richer.

Do you think these sort of schemes should have greater entrance requirements?

When I was 12 �…

22 comments on “When I was 12 �…

  1. Flippant though you may be (and please don’t change) that is the whole point. A $4.30 saving is meaningless in the scheme of things.

    And Min, there’s only a flea’s leg between us in age.

  2. When I went to the local council chambers to get a JP to sign the form I was deeply concerned that she would see my youthful good looks and refuse…ah we dream.

  3. Min, it’s only the last (or next to last) drink that am questioned about. “Sir, do you think you might have had enough?” ‘Nah!”

    But I must admit, until I was 25 I was often asked for proof of age. Ageless!

  4. Having worked until I was nearly 66, I was relieved to wind down a couple of years ago and get my Senior’s Card here in WA. It means I can travel (by bus and train) from the North of Perth all the way down to Fremantle where I can watch the Footy team I have followed for nearly 60 years. And here it means I do it for free.

    As for the entitlement to this gift from the State, I am tired of the “User Pays” attitude which was entrenched in the Australian psyche by Mr Howard. I am old! I have served my country by working for most of my life. I have added to the National Wealth from which my children and grand-children will reap a benefit and, in their turn, add to it.

    I am old school and I don’t mind giving to the Nation. In fact, brought up in post-war nationalistic times I have always considered it my duty. In return the State has owed me some care and consideration.

    Regardless of the state any individual’s financial position when reaching the Senior Age, I believe they deserve a “Thank You” from the Nation.

  5. I agree with you archiearchive FCD. There must come a time when I stop paying over the odds for everything and become a burden on society.

  6. Rabbit, “But I must admit, until I was 25 I was often asked for proof of age.
    Ageless!”
    Had the same problem, used to ‘Piss Me Off’….. bouncers took my drivers lic. off me at the local Disco when I was 25 (must of stolen it ).. had to go to the cops to make them give it back…. 18 and looked 13, nah, didnt like it much looking younger when I was younger…….. strange that I don’t mind so much now 😉 now I’m the same age as Peter Goers 😆 … just better look’n ( not hard 😉 )

  7. Rabbit, what is so annoying about this card, it has replaced the pension card for rebates. The shop keeper will tell you they only recognise the concession card, as unmarried mothers get the same card, as the aged pension..

    Point out that the pension card says aged, and you could be wealthier than they are, to hold the concession card, carries no weight.

    I have refused the card. I do not use or buy from those who do not recognise the pension card. Can make shopping difficult.

    PS

    Cannot be bothered to point out that most single mothers had their children within relationships, in my day being married. Did not point out that few were teenagers.

    As I was a single mother with four young children, lots of debts, I know how they struggle.

    Yes, it is time for this card to go, and return to recognising the pension card. It was always a slop to those who whined about not getting benefits those on pensions received. They were given more than those on pensions received.

    PPS You should only need the pension card for transport. For those with the concession card is a rip off.

  8. Yes BSA Bob, I have staggered out of the Anglers Rest on many occasions.

    I meet my mate there every couple of months and have been doing so for over ten years. He lives on the Central Coast and me in Sydney. The trains practically cross at Brooklyn, So it works well.

    We get there about 11, have a chat and then play a game of scrabble, lunch and a little flutter. We leave at 3.30 to catch the train. It’s a wonderful day and one I really look forward to.

  9. When I was 17, I was thoroughly enamoured of a bloke called Bill. He was from Corryong and was a mounted policeman (shh, I won’t go into that), and for a while rode the famous Gendarme.

Leave a Comment

