Friday on my mind: Miglo birthday edition

Welcome to a very special edition of the Café. It’s Migs’ Birthday!

Just to embarrass him even further, I thought that today might be an opportune moment to reflect on some quotable quotes from Migs himself.

*One Latte coming up, with a couple of Fruchocs.

*ME, Abbott could never go in the one straight direction. He’d fall off the edge of the earth.

*Where’s my mind!!!! Bugger the coffee – let’s raid the cellar.

*I’m glad I’m a duck 🙂

*I’ve just open a bottle of this: 2001 Clarendon Hills Brookman Vineyard Syrah (Shiraz). Anyone care to join me for a drink?

*Migs on technology: TB, nothing beats a good fountain pen to write with – and – cropping is ‘cutting’ the edges off a photo.

There once was a fellow called Keating
Who always gave Johnnie a beating
The language was shrewd
As he pounded the dude
With words I feel like repeating

*Pip, I’m whistling Dixie. 😀

*Bacchus, wrong thread. Media Watch is our dry zone.

*Mobius, I’m getting the impression that denialists – when faced with evidence that breaks down their argument – shrug their shoulders and say ‘it’s nature doing its thing’ and bemoan that we can’t do anything about it anyway.

*LOL. Give the pig to Tom.

*Both stories mention a focus on improving journalism. How refreshing that the aim is to increase standards instead of profits. By increasing the former, they will ultimately increase the latter.

*Migs the charmer: Pip, I’m guessing you’re the sweet little innocent looking cutey pie – and – What’s the matter Pip? Haven’t you seen a sausage before? 😛

*I’m gobsmacked, but can see how it happened.

*C’mon. Give the guy a break.

*Min, it’s probably because you swear too much. *Yes, do hide in the cellar and leave me the key. . . And that cork screw I see hidden in your pocket. 😈

*Aquanut, I didn’t mind Planet of the Apes, but I must admit that Planet of the Camels doesn’t thrill me. But Planet of the Ducks hits the spot. I can see a movie part coming up.

*Joni: “willy worriers”…. That caused a loud laugh which made people in the office look my way. The funniest (and best) description/put down I have seen for homophobes…. Just perfect.

*Migs @3.17pm, I have to admit I needed to have a sit down. It took my breath away. Was my post that good, or are you referring to the front page of The Australian? I’m hoping it was my post.

* I reckon dog food would taste better than a Balfour’s pie. I’m not keen on them. Neither am I keen on dog food. Bird seed’s OK though.

*I’m having a Dark Roast Moccona myself, Mobius. Damn fine coffee. *I’ll stick to my water bowl.

*I can still hear the sound of distant drums. Wait, here comes a pigeon with a note around one leg.

*Did you take those photo’s Joni? I like the fish heads. Although it’s a photo of dead fish, it’s kinda cute.

*Min, not wrong about going backwards…in many areas. Any chance of agreeing with me on anything? 😀

*And here’s our cellar’s private dining room: http://www.theworldwidewine.com/Wine_humor/why_I_hate_wine/fancy_wine_cellar_in_wine_wit.jpg

*Neil, if Abbott gets in your next cheque will be your dole cheque.

*Or his mouth frothing. Or dribbling. Or the bulge in his lycra. Yuk. Did I say that?

As of today Miglo has written over one hundred and seventy posts. An amazing person and an amazing friend. I would therefore like everyone to join me in wishing Migs a Very Happy Birthday.

113 comments on “Friday on my mind: Miglo birthday edition

  1. Happy birthday Miglo, and many many more.
    That’s a very impressive wine cellar…..which reminds me, has anyone seen Bacchus ?

  2. Thank you, kind people. A lot of people when they get to my age feel the need to lie about their age. Not me. I’ll always be honest about it.

  3. Who keeps an arrow in his bow,
    And if you prod him, lets it go?

    A fervent friend and subtle foe ??
    It is the Scorpio

    Happy birthday squire.

  4. From Kelly behind a paywall.

    ‘The Obama vision for a larger US Asian role is based on three ideas: delivering security, boosting free market prosperity and human rights meaning “dignity for all”.

    Meaningful strategy by Obama and everyone agrees with the sentiments.

  5. Miglo says
    A lot of people when they get to my age feel the need to lie about their age. Not me. I’ll always be honest about it.

    Me too…..oh… hang on 🙄

  6. Other birthdays on this day.

    1790 – August Ferdinand Möbius, German mathematician (d. 1868)

    1941-11-05 Art Garfunkel American musician is turning 70

    1971-11-14 Adam Gilchrist Australian cricketer is turning 40

    1976-11-08 Brett Lee Australian cricketer is turning 35

    1952-11-25 Imran Khan Pakistani test cricketer

  7. Pip, that’s amazing Imran Khan’s birthday too. I remember a story about someone who used to often be mistaken for Imran Khan in his younger days. 😀

  8. I’m glad I’m not 35 any more…being 36 is MUCH better!!!!

    Pip, the cellar may be well stocked…today, but by the close of trade (i.e birthday) it is sure to be depleted. Then again, I’m not a fussy drunk!

  9. I know its your bday but i had to put this in for your SA friends

    “PREMIER Jay Weatherill has returned Labor to an election-winning position less than a month after becoming leader.”

    cheers , drink up

  10. The Local ABC morning programs spend hours every day creating blatant
    beat-ups to whack the government.

    Currently they are pursuing MP Grace Portolesi for taking her 7 year old daughter on a trip to India. She is married to a ltd news journalist who just happens to be getting a bad rap from his employers at present; imagine the fuss had he, as spouse, gone on the trip.

    The Speaker has clearly stated that Portolesi has done nothing wrong, but “taxpayers money ” is part of the “Portolesi bad” meme

    Nothing has changed in years, yet SA Labor, like the federals, has been doing it’s job despite the best/worst efforts of these fellows and their Coalition mates.

  11. “Senator Fisher has reportedly been found gulity of assault ….just announced.”

    Justice does exist I am surprised.
    What was she found guilty of. Did the assault charges still exist.

  12. Catching up,
    I posted this on Open Thread, so a little copy and paste to here.

    Liberal Senator found guilty of assault
    http://www.abc.net.au/news/2011-11-18/mary-jo-fisher-shoplifting-judgment/3678996/?site=sydney

    Liberal Senator Mary Jo Fisher has been found guilty of assault but not guilty of shoplifting, in Adelaide Magistrates Court.

    She faced charges after a visit to a suburban supermarket late last year.

    The Senator was accused of stealing $92 of groceries.

    I suppose when the store videos became unavailable the alleged shop lifting was unprovable ….

    ** The Daily Telegraph report says:-

    http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/senator-mary-jo-fisher-found-guilty-of-assault/story-e6freuy9-1226198675245

    Magistrate Kym Boxall said he found Fisher to be a witness of truth and that she was having a panic attack when accused of leaving a shop with unpaid for food.

    However, he found she did assault the guard.

  13. Roswell, note the deathly silence when you suggested that you look like Fox Mulder. However if so, might I ask..do you have anything planned for this weekend?

  14. This ltd news view is good for a laugh, although Mr. Kenny found it ‘grating’.

    Mr Abbott cannot help himself and the result is grating.
    Welcoming Mr Obama in what otherwise would have been a superior speech to Ms Gillard’s, he chided her for not having shared the good sense of the Americans to continue the conservative policy of selling uranium to India.

    ” in what otherwise would have been a superior speech to Ms Gillard’s,”
    Qui….huh ???

  15. Many Happy Returns, Miggsy … Happi long life to you …

    (My daughter in law’s birfday tomorrow – she too has been attacked by the same “wolf” … as yourself …)

  16. I see all these wonderful birthday wishes, which I’ll respond to later today. For the time being I might take the liberty of posting one of my two all-time favourite songs: a 1967 hit by an Adelaide group which when I hear it, takes me back to my very early years on Kangaroo Island. Some songs to that to us.

  17. I can finally start replying to your best wishes individually, but do forgive me if it takes a while getting around to yours. I’m soon to dash off to a forum about how social media – Twitter, Facebook and blogging – has assisted our state government. That’s right up my ally.

    For now I can provide a response to Mobius. Thanks, old mate. I’m glad you like my work. It’s all worth it when it attracts great people such as yourself.

    Cheers.

  18. Migs, that is excellent news. It was on the tip of my tongue to enquire whether you might have been co-opted to be a guest speaker 🙂

  19. I’m 35.

    And a few months. 😀

    Pip @8.15am, does Migs think he’s Brett Lee?

    Migs keeps the cellar very well stocked

    Unless Bacchus is around and then it’s a losing battle, Pip! lol

    Migs, happy birthday, my friend. May there be many, many more and may you rule at the Café for all of them.

    May good health and good fortune follow you.

    Did anyone make a cake? Preferably one that goes very well with Moet or Dom or Veuve or Bollinger or all of the above!

  20. I made the cake and left it down in the cellar along with the fire extinguisher due to the number of candles.

    If it is missing, those currently down in the cellar may like to check the faces of Min and Bacchus for crumbs or frosting 🙂

  21. shane, if Min and Bacchus have been in the cellar you can assume that your cake is gone….if Miglo saw the big box of candles he may have confiscated them …

    Can you imagine the mess down there !

  22. Pip

    Looks like they have helped themselves to 2 cakes. I can imagine the mess. They have probably been playing with matches as well and lighting candles while having their alcoholic beverages.

  23. Pip, thank you for reminding me..the cake, I almost forgot.

    Drat, it seems that Migs has missed out on this one.

    BTW Pip, you can get dressed now.

  24. My next thanks goes to Lyn. It was a delight to see your pretty little face here. You’ve been a great supporter of this blog and Australian Blog Sites. You’re a gem. And the great work you do at TPS is respected across the blogosphere.

  25. Hope your birthday was a good one Miglo….sorry ’bout the to-do in the cellar
    earlier, and I’ll get the scuff marks off the tables in the morning.
    You know how it is when there’s fine wine and music….and dancing on the tables….

    Fun is always on the menu at the Cafe 🙂

  26. ‘You know how it is when there’s fine wine and music….and dancing on the tables….’

    Sure do, I had a birthday party at a pub I was living in while working for the bank.

    In those days they closed early and this pub closed at 7pm on a sunday. So once closed we had a great party and in the end launching oursleves across all of the tables and dancing on them and jumping from one to the other.

    Needless to say we had to replace a few after the night but the publican was all good about it because he had bank staff on premises every night of the year to look after his pub once closed.

    Benefited both of us.

  27. I made the cake and left it down in the cellar along with the fire extinguisher due to the number of candles.

    ROFLMAO, shane!

    Pip, I believe Min is a bit partial to an excellent cake. Dunno about Migs and Bacchus. But there may be a sore head or so emerging later! 😀

    I think Migs likes the idea if being mysterious and secretly wants a sexy alien lady to sweep him off to a galaxy far, far away! It would be his luck she’d turn out to be an Ena Sharples look alike!

    Hope you found all your clothes. lol

    shane, pubs and restaurants should have extra strong tables for just such occasions! And a decent fireplace and cheap plates and glasses. Retsina helps to establish the mood and the hangover!

  28. Jane,Hope you found all your clothes. lol

    Well…no….and the tablecloth is missing 😳

    shane , was it a country pub…..I remember some great parties…

  29. Jane and Pip, it seems a wee bit quiet around this neck of the woods..but then we wimmens are far more resilient that the blokes.

    Jane re Hope you found all your clothes. lol Yes thank you I did.

  30. Shane re launching oursleves across all of the tables and dancing on them and jumping from one to the other.

    Yes, I can most definitely imagine you doing this, you wild bunch of bank tellers 😀

    For you..

  31. Min, there are a couple of stalwarts of the male variety here this morning, but the rest of them will need the whole day to recover…. 😦

  32. I didn’t mean to be mean to Migs…. having the flu on the weekend is the pits.

    Then again, it’s tempting to tease after the birthday celebrations…

  33. Phew – what a job that was. I think I need a drink! The cellar is all cleaned up again after last evening. Dishes are waiting in the sink for Tom R 😉 I found a couple of tops, shirts, some stray bras and a pair of grundies with a black duck on them. Owners of same can reclaim them from the lost property box behind the bar. 😆

  34. A song for Migs and all the other “youngsters” at the Café – IMO a great cover of the Dylan classic…

  35. I’m slowly working my way down the list.

    Thanks Roswell and el gordo, I enjoy seeing the both of you here. That was a clever little poem, el gordo. Quite a lovely surprise.

    Tom R, I’m glad you stopped at two 21’s. Might have had to ban you if you added any more. 😉

  36. Bacchus re: The cellar is all cleaned up again after last evening. Dishes are waiting in the sink for Tom R I found a couple of tops, shirts, some stray bras and a pair of grundies with a black duck on them. Owners of same can reclaim them from the lost property box behind the bar.

    Honestly Bacchus, can you please put those bras back on those old ladies’ washing lines where you found them….

  37. Min,

    Miglo
    OMG! How could I proceed with my list of thanks and miss Min?

    Great topic, Min.

    Where would the Cafe be without you?

    I agree wholeheartedly 🙂

  38. Slowly getting through the list . . .

    Thanks Shane. Love your input here at the Cafe. And yes, the media are biased. No matter what they say my age is: don’t believe them. 😉

  39. Thanks handyrab.

    I look forward to catching up this week.

    It’s always a pleasure to see you here and will be even a greater pleasure to meet you in person. I’m sure we’ll click.

Leave a Comment

