Your Choice, Your Destiny

I always thought that Australians were basically “decent” people.  My mob, have been here since 1820.  A few of my family have fought (and died) for what they believed was the “right thing”.
No, we did not think we were “aspirational” what ever that is, we were just trying to get by, and bring up our kids up in a way that would give them a better chance at life.

We believed in a “fair go”, if you work hard, you get a result.  We were not wealthy, but my council garbo dad managed to see I got to Uni, where I worked hard, and got a ticket to the front row seats of life.  My kids have worked hard to get better “seats” in life, however my grand kids “expect” front row seats.

Well guess what, work hard, and stop whinging.

So what does the future hold?

You have choices, pay attention,  judge what is being said in the public debate, or don’t give a stuff and watch “Master chief” or what ever chewing gum for the eyes.

You decide, what’s the future for your country, your kids.

Remember those with wealth and power do not like these things threatened, they will resort to conflict when necessary.  Only one side of politics is calling for armed insurrection, reject these crazies, that way lies economic ruin.

58 comments on “Your Choice, Your Destiny

  1. People far richer than I are enraged that they’ll have to pay a carbon tax. The poor little things.

    I am in the top 10% of wage earners in Australia, which probably puts me in the top 0.0001% of wage earners on the planet. Who am I thus to complain if I have to pay an extra 0.2 cents for a tea bag?

  2. Catching up,
    as recently as this afternoon there was a News Ltd. journalist, Joe Hildebrand, on the ABC’s the Drum, and as expected he dropped ‘left wing conspiracy’ into the conversation as he talked over another guest.

    I’m more inclined to suspect right-wing conspiracies or tactics myself.
    For example, consider the numbers of News Ltd. journalists who end up being talking heads on the ABC 👿

  3. But Migs, you don’t unnerstan’. They’ll all be rooned!! Rooned!! What if the enormous sum of $520/year jeopardises the new rolex? You just don’t understand how this could scar a person for life!

  4. Basically, that’s what I’ve taught my kids, & they’ve turned out ok..am very proud of they way they use logic to determine issues…cant say the same for (some) of the grandkids..but I’m working on them 🙂

  5. I tend to blame lack of community – “community” for a good number of people is as per lunalava’s description of continuously being fed the “chewing gum for the eyes”. Chewing gum doesn’t require any thinking and nor does what passes for ‘news’ in the MSM. If you communicate with nothing but chewing gum, you become chewing gum.

  6. Hildebrand is a second rate Piers/Bolt. The proof is in the pudding. News Int DID hack phones, they harrassed and bullied people to suit their commercial agenda, they stole private financial and medical information. It is quite probable they did it under direction of, or at the very least, with the approval of senior management. How do they draw the long bow that this is a ‘left wing conspiracy’? Hildebrand just sounds like the derivative wanker that he actually is to spout this nonsense…and noone is buying it apart from the rusted on loonies who hang on every word of the vile right wing mouthpieces.

  7. Seventeen years ago I was unpacking Arnott’s trucks for a living and earning sweet bugger all for it. I decided it was time to better my life so I went to uni and earned a degree, which I’ve since followed up with an Honour’s degree and a diploma.

    I tucked them under my arm and headed for Canberra – a big risk – but I’m now earning good money, have a flash car, have investment properties and a nice home. Yound kids call me a greedy baby boomer.

    Nope, it’s not greed. It’s simply having the balls to get up and achieve something no matter how long it takes. If you want something – you’ve got to work for it.

    That’s the equation I grew up with.

  8. Twenty years ago I was bringing up 3 kids on a Disability Support Pension. I went on to study law which I couldn’t finish due to my deteriorating hearing because although there is such as thing as a blind lawyer there is no such thing as a deaf one.

    I don’t have a big house or a flash car but I do have 3 children who appreciate knowing what it’s like to have no money, who know what are the important things in life and who are passionate about justice and who are not afraid to be different and to speak their minds.

  9. Tracey,
    Hildebrand just sounds like the derivativewanker that he actually is to spout this nonsense.

    As I watched him yesterday it occurred to me that he parrots in the same way as all the IPA kids on the Drum. A member of IPA perhaps ??

  10. Min, I went back to uni after four kids and before a anomaly exist that I could get the pension as well as TEAS.

    I first got a Diploma then a degree.

    I kinda thank Mr. Whitlam for able to do this.

    First he increase the pension to enough for me and my children to live on. TEAS, meant that I did not have to take from my kids to further my education.

    The result was that I spent the rest of my working life paying more tax than receiving benefits. I even retired with a little super.

    Sadly I could not get my children to follow me. They are following in my footsteps in not being afraid to get mature age education. Sad that they chose to do it the hard way.

    Sometimes I get the feeling that people think I am bull shitting when I talk about different life experiences. I am only able to do this because I have lived both sides of the fence. I was also bought up at the same time, in the city and the bush. My mother and us children spent time in the city for medical reasons. My father was a cocky farmer.

  11. CU, you are an amazing lady and that is for certain. My dad nearly died a dozen times during my life and eventually passed from prostate cancer at 88yrs.

    My father had no schooling after Grade 6 and yet I would count him as one of the most caring, intelligent people who ever graced this planet. When my father was dying a doctor asked me, Was your father a university professor? I said, No he worked in a factory all of his life.

    Three days before he died Dad sat up in bed and read the first draft of his granddaughter’s PhD thesis on biofuels. Erin sang him a song in her beautiful lilting tones..a folk ballad.

  12. Min, I am not amazing. I made many big mistakes but we have to take life as it is dealt out. Sometimes I think we are the lucky ones.

    Both of my parents were amazing people. My father left school at twelve but he made fools of many tradesmen and engineers with his maths skills. He was born 1900 and had one saying in life. You cannot waste money because it is made to go around. As long as it is going around, things are OK.

    As a single man during the depression that put his car on jacks and if he is to believed lived on wheat and rabbits. I am inclined to believe him as I only served him rabbit once. Never game to do it a second time.

    I think the problem with a lot of people, they live life as they planned it. They do not realise it is luck not planning that enables them to do so.

    I along with him believe the simple fact that money is made to go around. Look at today, people appear to have lost confidence an as a result the economy is coming to a halt. What has happened is that people have stopped spending. The money has stopped going around.

    This in spite of strong employment, low interest rates, good trade balances and government debt that we can easily cope with.

    History will treat Mr. Abbott harshly/

  13. Some thoughts of ashghebranious

    ““Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new.”

    ……..Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I’m not sure about the the universe.”…………….

    “Common sense is the collection of prejudices acquired by age eighteen.”,,,,,,,,,,“Great spirits have often encountered violent opposition from weak minds.”,,,,,,,,“We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.”……………

    http://ashghebranious.wordpress.com/2011/07/16/albert-einstein-brings-me-great-comfort-when-i-most-need-it/

  14. CU, same as my father..people went rabbiting just to put meat on the table.

    My mother is from Tungamah in NE Victoria and it was/is dry land wheat and sheep. Mum is 88yrs and to this day cannot eat mutton which they call ‘lamb’ these days as this was what she had to eat every day of her life.

    My dad always called it ‘bricks and mortar’. Probably because of my upbringing I don’t care much about the Biggest, the Fastest or the most Expensive. Because guess what, in 6 months it is no longer going to be the biggest or the fastest or the most expensive and so it’s a fairly shallow way to live.

    People have stopped spending because there isn’t anything worth spending money on.

  15. Min, you could be right. It is years since I have even wanted to enter DJ or similar stores. I hate shopping centres and find the the net suits me fine.

    Much of what is available is rubbish or has no style.

    I think the big stores are missing the point, the way we want to shop is changing.

    I buy my fruit and vegetables by home delivery. I am looking forwarded until grocery suppliers get their act together and I will not have to go near a shopping centres.

    I am waiting for some of the bulk meat places also to deliver. What is available now is too expensive and limited. Someone will fill the void, I just have to wait.

    We do live in a chaqnging world. I believe Mr. Abbott would like to keep us in the past.

  16. CU, I loathe shopping centers. Apart from just the shallow blandness of these places I have scotopic sensitivity syndrome which means that my eyes go very weird and so it’s in and out and as quickly as possible.

    But what on earth is there to actually buy? Third quality items made in third world countries.

    I’m a sort of minimalistic person..as my Dad used to say Why do you need to own more than one pair of shoes, you can only wear one pair at the same time.

  17. Catching up @ 1.23pm, I always enjoys your contributions and I second what Min said. You are an amazing Lady. 🙂

  18. El gordo, yes CU is.

    You know that people are teasing about the troll thing. Everyone is welcome here at the Cafe with dissenting opinions..no matter how annoying. 😉

  19. El gordo, this is not a topic about climate change, this is a topic where people are sharing as you will note if you care to read previous items.

    Perhaps you might have a story to tell too.

  20. el gordo, I do not really think I am a lady but I do like to stir. I really do not want to be a lady, that is too boring. I also have too many rough edges to be so.

    Sometimes I have this funny feeling you are having us on.

    I think maybe you like to stir too.

    I do not understand what a troll is, but I see little wrong with them if the make people think. It is up to us whether we let them take over the site.

  21. “Seventeen years ago I was unpacking Arnott’s”

    Miglo, I would have to say, working on Arnotts factory floor was one of the worse jobs I had. Work at Homebush for 13 weeks. Woke up one morning to the thought there had to be better things in life. It is one experience I do not want to repeat.

    I was thinking the other day about the number of factory jobs that have gone off shore. You know I am happy they have. I would not want any of my extensive tribe working under those conditions.

    The country does not appear to be any worse off for them going off shore.

    The only down turn I see is the lack of jobs for slow workers and those with an education. Leaving school early is no longer an option.

  22. CU, one of my jobs was putting the inserts into Truckin’ Life. Snap, snap and load them onto the pallets. Terrible job but wonderful people.

    I have also travelled tens of hundreds of kms flogging chickens (dead ones).

    I worked the Byron Bay markets for 6 years selling my handcrafts and doing psychic readings whilst on the disability pension. I spent 6 years as a disability advocate where I received not a penny’s pay.

    But on the other hand I’m also an educational psychologist who also received distinctions in criminal and constitutional law.

  23. Min, Arnott’s was a terrible job, and by no stretch of the imagination could I call them good people. I liken it to being in Parramatta Girls Home. Uniform, rules and all.

    I found the metal and electronic industry more to my liking. Car detailing was not the best but fitted in with young children.

    I am very glad that at 40 I found my way to uni, and better income. I do not believe I would have been as keen to work, if I did not.

    I did Social Science as well as Welfare Diploma. Subjects I did not find hard.

    I was meant to go to uni from school but owing to my mother’s illness, it did not happen. I left after the Intermediate and attempted the Leaving at night at Tech. Got Geography and Economics but I just had too much else on my plate after my mother’s death.

    I was glad to be able to fulfill my mother’s dream later in life, even though she had died years before.

    My father who died at 97 could not understand why I did it, but I think he was proud. He was of the old school that believed woman should not have to work. He could never understand why I wanted to.

    I am proud that all my children and now grand children are good workers, I think it might be in the genes. They definitely did not take after their father.

    As I said Min, I think we are lucky. I believe we learn more from mistakes than successes.

  24. CU, it’s hard to imagine it isn’t it, Migs spending seventeen years unpacking Arnott’s biscuit trucks. A fairly special bloke and my best friend.

  25. CU, yes he is and he does. Let me count the ways..maybe I had just better play a song for him instead. Migs has probably played this a million times, but here it is again… And BTW did she mention my name.

  26. Yes I have played that song often.

    BTW Min, it was 17 years ago – not FOR 17 years. I used to be a finance manager before I went off the ropes the first time.

    Nice things that you ladies have said about me and I appreciate that.

    I won’t be around tonight as I spent too much time in the sun today and as a consequence my lupus has flared up. It’s off to bed where I’ll probably stay until Monday morning if history is anything to go by.

    Having said that, it was great to actually be out with friends enjoying myself. A nice luncheon was put on by a gay couple I work with and a wonderful time was had. Was it worth it? Yes! Will I do it again? Yes! I’m crook nearly all the time anyway, so why not enjoy yourself and be crook rather than doing nothing and being crook?

    But for now, goodnight all.

  27. Before I go – there has been an outcry that I’m no longer a duck, but my new computer will not let me save the changes to my gravatar in WordPress. Here’s and idea: I’ll email the duck gravatar to my work computer and see if I can save the changes there.

    I like George though. Somehow it’s me. It reminds me of my youth and his distant yet thoughtful stare catches me to a tee.

  28. el gordo @4.08pm, how are the 3 billy goats gruff?

    My parents bought a small farm when I was 6 and I became a country kid. We had sod-all money, but there were plenty of rabbits and we had traps, so we had rabbit for breakfast, lunch and tea. To this day, I reckon crumbed mickey rabbit is the bees knees.

    I got my first job when I was 10 working in a deli and dining rooms; I didn’t enjoy it much, but I certainly liked having my palm crossed with silver every week.

    I worked at the local deli every holidays from that time until I got my first full time job working for Freeman Motors then a job doing pickups and deliveries for a firm whose name I forget. The staff were good eggs. Next job was with War Service Homes and thence to being self employed.

    During the late 90s until 2006, I also worked nights cooking at a local motel. Hated the work, loved my co-workers.

  29. Jane, that reminds me of when I was advertising manager for the York on Lilydale in Victoria..I used to hang out the back with the chefs and kitchen hands..a far better class of people than the gossipy office staff.

  30. ‘…but there were plenty of rabbits and we had traps, so we had rabbit for breakfast, lunch and tea.’

    Too many bones for my liking but always enjoyed the taste of rabbit…. not sure if this is a good political move by O’Farrell.

    ‘THE Shooters and Fishers Party has won the support of the O’Farrell Government to increase shooting as a sport in schools.’

    Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/national/education/shoottoskill-lessons-20110716-1hj5q.html#ixzz1SJMyd0mT

  31. Ok, I’ve had a request for my Greek Slow Cooked Lamb recipe..so here it is…

    W’eg of w’am (obviously)
    Garlic
    Rosemary
    1 cup dry white wine.
    Place garlic slithers into lamb roast. Drizzle with a little olive oil, top the roast with sprigs of fresh rosemary and add a cup of white wine.
    Cook for about 6 hours (covered) in a slow oven, about 150 degrees until the meat is falling off the bone.

    Some might like to crispy it up by turning the oven up to 180 for the last 15mins. Serve with roast crisp potatoes and steamed fresh veg and gravy from the pan drippings.

  32. Too many bones for my liking……

    Think of the dogs, el gordo.

    I must admit mutton also featured heavily on the menu. Just as well we had a massive vegie garden; we could have ended up like the English aristocracy. Too much meat and not enough fruit and veg.

  33. Jane, my grandmother Jenkins had a massive vegie garden in Kew. The quarter acre was all veg, the apple tree, the chook pen. The backyard was a path with all of the vegie that you can imagine being the garden.

    Umm ended up ‘like the English aristocracy’…….

  34. This may not be the appropriate place for this, but I received the following email today from a group trying to stop a US style child beauty pageant:

    This month, a company in Melbourne, Australia is lobbying for the right to hold a children’s beauty pageant.

    Stop these types of pageants from happening in Melbourne.»

    Pitting young girls against each other in a competition based on hypersexualized physical appearance and performance is harmful to their well-being.

    Psychologist Anna Wonderlich found “[a] significant association between childhood beauty pageant participation and increased body dissatisfaction, difficulty trusting interpersonal relationships, and greater impulsive behaviors.”

    Children’s pageants can cause serious problems later in life. Help put a stop to these pageants and protect Australia’s youth.»

    Thanks for taking action!

    Kathleen
    ThePetitionSite

    Stop Child Beauty Pageants in Australia

    Here is the link to sign the petition.

  35. Jane,

    I have had the unfortunate experience to come across these sort of so called Pageants. Sorry folks, it’s ugly it’s crass.

    It is not cute to dress your 6 year old daughter in false eyelashes and make her look like a prostitute.

    Full support from at least my side of the blog.

  36. Min @7.12pm, We had chooks, too and a snake which did battle with my mother everyday in the race to collect the eggs. She was always alerted by the chooks and old snake bags only got the occasional egg, but I guess that’s all he/she needed to keep body and soul together.

    English aristocracy-think Henry VIII, George IV & Edward VII.

    BTW, love the recipe for the lamb. I’ll definitely be trying it!

  37. We ate well. Yes we only ate hogget or mutton, the lamb went to market. My mother’s family came from a French background of extra good cooks, including my grandfather who was a baker and cafe owner during his working life. He kept a good veg garden which he made pocket money catering to the district. (We lived in southern NSW in the Valley near Condolan.

    Mum and her father ensure we had chickens, ducks, geese and turkeys. We had pigs and a small number of cattle. To this was added fish, sometimes Murray Cod, from the Lachlan and wild duck. We always had milk. What we did not eat was rabbit and wild goats.

    I have a feeling we ate like Kings, we were spoilt. Silly me thought everyone ate like us.

    The only thing that blighted was the greyhounds my grandfather loved to race. No matter the height of the fence, they seemed to get out. Not good for pets or poultry.

    Funny the lamb, the only thing we seem to be able get today, tasted like the hogget and mutton of my youth. I am sure they have lost more than one tooth.

    We left there early 1950’s for a dairy farm on the Central Coast, in what is now millionaire valley but them poverty valley. A beautiful as it looked, it was like much coastal land, poor agriculture country. You cannot cut down the forests in heavy rainfall country without washing out the good.

    By the way, we had guns when we were children. They were seen as something that needed to be respected. They were stored without bolts and bullets stored elsewhere. They were used for sport but never glorified. My mother’s little rifle was all that was needed for an emergency around the farm. The only time I can remember them being used was to slaughter pigs. My father hated killing. He did not like us to hear the scream of pigs when they had their throats cut.

    I have fun telling my great grandchildren we did not have electricity, a phone or running water. I do not tell them that most of my life, we did not go without these luxuries.

    It is a fallacy that guns are necessary to run a farm. Children do not need to learn how to shoot. I am sure if my father was alive today, he would be a fan of a stun gun.

    I must be getting old. The past is beginning to come back into my thoughts. I do not think the young realise how far we have come since the 1940’s.

  38. CU, that is a wonderful story..I was reluctant to use the word wonderful because it seems inadequate.

    Exactly, the times are what you make of them and the dollar value has not much to do with it.

    Who can place a dollar value on the chooks or ducks in the backyard or the crab apple tree or the milk cow or the poddy calves.

    I can guarantee that a poddy calf has more entertainment value than any electronic gadget.

  39. Min, even if they find paint tins and rags and then move onto chewing the washing.

    My mother was more a city or town girl than a farm girl. I sometimes believe she did not always seen the humour but like a good wife of the times, she did not complain.

    I feel that my children missed out by spending most of their childhood in one suburb and attending two schools. They have move further out as adults which I think is good.

  40. CU, neither my mother or I had a gun or could shoot. My father had a shotgun, I think, but he didn’t use it much as far as I can remember. But my mother had her trusty twisted fencing wire snake killer she took everywhere with her.

    Looking back, we also ate very well and never went hungry.

    I remember getting off the school bus in winter and having to walk what seemed like miles across our neighbour’s farm and ours before I was home praying we’d be having stew for tea, because that meant dumplings for both the main dish and sweets.

    My mother made the fluffiest, lightest dumplings in the universe and combined with golden syrup sauce and lashings of the thickest cream or, if we were really lucky, scalded cream, I thought we had it made!

    I remember sitting around the stove on winter nights with our feet in the oven, listening to the rain thundering on the roof or hearing it crack on frosty nights.

    And gasping in the heat in the summer as the mozzies whined around us! On the whole I preferred winter to summer when I was a kid!

    Like you, no electricity or running water-aladin lamps and a chip heater. Later on we ran copper pipe through the metters for our hot water.

    And you tell that to the young ones today and they won’t believe you. ROFL.

  41. Were those dumplings made in golden syrup. What about treacle pie.

    Where my father had his farm there were many very large families, like 12 and 14.

    In the fifties we were lucky enough to get a pound a pound for wool. It was like winning the lottery. Homes gained new cars, electricity plants and washing machines.

    The mother’s swore they would never have treacle tarts and golden syrup dumplings again.

    It was only a few weeks before the kids were complaining and the dumplings and tarts were back on the menu.

Leave a Comment

