Friday on my mind or A Stocking is Shocking

Today is the Café’s Friday open thread where everyone is welcome to share any issues, topics or interests which come to mind.

It seems to me that the Australian public has been steadily convinced that anything to do with nostalgia or history for that matter isn’t relevant to today’s fast paced society. With technology changing so quickly anything more than 5 years old is sooo ‘yesterday’. However for myself I think that we need to value the past in order to appreciate the future. And so here is a my offering.

Did you know that in olden days a glimpse of stocking was looked on as something shocking? This is a line from a Cole Porter song which was originally written in 1934 and was full of contemporary references to high society, however of interest (at least for yours truly) is that Porter changed the lyrics quite frequently often to suit the times but also to suit the audience. Here is one version, the written lyrics as below have been condensed so as to save the Café ink 🙂

Times have changed,
And we’ve often rewound the clock,

In olden days a glimpse of stocking
Was looked on as something shocking,
But now, God knows,
Anything Goes.

Good authors too who once knew better words,
Now only use four letter words
Writing prose, Anything Goes.

The world has gone mad today
And good’s bad today,
And black’s white today,
And day’s night today,

If driving fast cars you like,
If low bars you like,
If old hymns you like,
If bare limbs you like,
If Mae West you like
Or me undressed you like,
Why, nobody will oppose!
When every night,
The set that’s smart
Is intruding in nudist parties in studios,

Anything goes!

51 comments on “Friday on my mind or A Stocking is Shocking

  1. Thanks for fixing it, Min.

    I was at Wagga Teachers College 70/72 and I recall hopping the old VEEDUB one Saturday, and taking a drive up through the mountains and down to Corryong then Albury. Picked up a couple of hitchhikers on the way…the memory lives on still. Wonderful country.

  2. Handyrab my pleasure it was one incey wincey little . that caused the problem.

    Beautiful country and that is for certain. A VEEDUB hey, it could have been you who nearly caused me to be thrown from my horse!

  3. ‘ A VEEDUB hey, it could have been you who nearly caused me to be thrown from my horse!’

    Now you mention it, Min…….

    Nah It wouldn’t have been me, even at age 19′ I was a ‘careful?’ driver. Well mostly….

    Hope the horse survived the scare.

  4. Work’s done for the week, whole yard has been whipper-snippered, front yard has been mowed..

    May I have a nice refreshing Kilkenny please mine host?

    *clink*

  5. I think I busted my foof foof valve Min. Still got the back yard to do tomorrow – maybe it will rain? 😛

    One of these will do if you haven’t got a Kilkenny…

  6. now you can come around and do mine

    You should have sung out last weekend Min – we were in the same shire from Friday till Monday, down at Cabarita…

    Pity about the weather 😦

  7. You could be in luck Bacchus, the 7 day weather forecast is predicting rain for tomorrow afternoon so maybe you can hang off until then before you attempt the backyard 🙂

    Yes indeed, of course the Café is fully supplied with Guiness or Kilkenny, gentleman’s choice.

  8. G’day some of my favourite songs here tonight … handyrab, thatnks for Two of Us … I’m a big Beatles fan and had in fact forgotten this little pearler!

    Seems the sixties are popular … I’d like to share one of the songs from most influential singers of those times for me … (and oddly enough I was in a pop band at the time!)

  9. That is a great list of hits folks.
    I just have to share this, just checked my emails; I am now being followed on Twitter by Hide the Sausage, and that’s all I’ve got to say about that, mainly because I can’t think of a song, so no song , no cigar:]

  10. Best place to GLOAT!

    GO BRONCOS!

    Broncos 14 Titans 8

    (You’ll notice the time I left my last post – 8:30 here is 7:30 in Real Time – that’s football time)

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    Hide the Sausage!

    That could be any one of a few of people I know!

  11. I haven’t listened to Roger Whittaker for eons Reb. This one would probably be my favorite from him.

  12. Our friend Cheryl just sent this to me. Thought it appropriate here!

    PS Min just emailed you something else that might need vetting before posting!

  13. Migs, did you happen to catch the Port Collingwood game perchance?

    I think that I should now go and hide in the cellar…

  14. Who me? Why Migs I’m shocked!! Here, I’ll play a Beatles song just for you [Aside, gets him in every time :D]

  15. You’re very cruel Migglet.

    My childhood was, how can I say it politely, “A Living Hell!” all set to the backdrop of a Roger Whitaker and Demis Roussos soundtrack.

    The whole thing was like a bad acid trip* that just went on and on and on and on and on….

    *At least that’s what “a friend” tells me…

  16. Yes, my childhood sucked too, reb. The times were good (the 60s) and I loved living on the farm on Kangaroo Island, but I had a father who I’m sure hated my guts. His emotional abuse of me stopped when I was about 14, due to my mother’s pleading.

    Even though the emotional abuse stopped, it was evident he continued to hate me.

    It wasn’t until I was in my very late twenties that he accepted that I wasn’t a bad kid after all.

    Now everyone loves me. :mrgreen:

  17. I guess it was a generational thing Migs….

    Bloody luxury!

    I lived in ‘t middle o’ road in a wet Kleenex tissue box!

    I remember getting up in ‘t mornin’ an goin’ down mine an’ workin’ til’ midnight! I’d come ‘ome and me dad would beat me to death wi’ a broken beer bottle til’ I were dead … I’d ‘ave me supper and get five minits sleeep and be up for mine in ‘t morning …

    (but I do know what you are both talking about!)

  18. That’s nothing, TB. Before school I’d milk the cows, chop the fire wood, collect the eggs, feed the pigs, pat the cats and round up the sheep (when shearing) before the 2 mile walk to the road where the school bus would collect me.

    My reward was to get beaten up by the bigger kids on the school bus.

    At school the daily ritual would see me beaten up by even bigger kids, plus the customary cane from the headmaster on good days.

    I’d never get beaten up on the 60 minute bus trip home as we were all mates again. But back home the hard work and the hard discipline started again.

    But I still turned out OK.

    Lesser kids might have grown up into mass murderers, mercenaries or priests.

  19. Lesser kids might have grown up into mass murderers, mercenaries or priests. I told you never to repeat my past life, Migs!!!

  20. Just to prove that there are some dreadfully warped and twisted people in this world…

    Duck shooters don’t see themselves as cruel killers. 😯

Leave a Comment

