Flickrit: The King’s Speech

Film Review: The King’s Speech

David Seidler’s screenplay of The King’s Speech follows the conventional wisdom of the unlikely, unwilling king-in-waiting and stutterer who finds his voice during the crisis of war. The key speech and climax is Bertie’s (King George VI) first radio broadcast following the war declaration in 1939.

…The young Elizabeth of the movie has lived to see her sister and children divorced, her ‘uncle’ assassinated by the IRA, the death of her ex-daughter-in-law Diana with the royal controversy that followed, and her son and heir’s marriage to a divorcée . The constitutional crisis surrounding the abdication of Edward VIII seems small beer with hindsight. Marry a divorced woman. Never!

…Director Tom Hooper’s The King’s Speech is a very effective weaving of the personal and the political. Expect some Oscars from this period piece.

More

31 comments on “Flickrit: The King’s Speech

  1. I think that anything with Geoffrey Rush in it is worth a look and apparently Colin Firth does a great job as King George VI. Of interest is that Guy Pearce plays King Edward VIII. It’s been a while since I’ve noticed anything done by Pearce.

  2. Migs & Min…the witty banter & down-to-earth approach of Rush’s character will probably motivate me to see it.

    Kevin, as I watch most films on PayTV HD or on Blu-Ray these days I haven’t seen many 2010 films…still catchin’ up on 2009…but have just about finished my 2008 list. I do it tortoise style these days.

    My faves of 2008:

    The Wrestler
    The Visitor
    Slumdog Millionaire
    Waltz with Bashir
    Milk
    In Bruges
    Red Cliff
    Superbad
    WALL-E
    Synecdoche, New York
    Frost/Nixon
    Doubt
    Appaloosa
    Hellboy II: The Golden Army
    Pineapple Express
    Standard Operating Procedure
    The Band’s Visit
    My Blueberry Nights
    Twilight
    Ponyo
    Tropic Thunder
    Curious Case of Benjamin Button, The
    Gran Torino
    Dark Knight, The
    Cloverfield
    Forgetting Sarah Marshall
    Body of Lies
    Blindness
    The Baader Meinhof Complex
    Happy-Go-Lucky
    Taken
    Burn After Reading
    The Reader
    Persepolis
    Revolutionary Road
    Frozen River
    Let the Right One In
    Bottle Shock
    Mongol
    Orphanage, The
    Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull
    Australia
    The Good, the Bad, the Weird
    Pride & Glory
    Be Kind Rewind
    The Objective
    The World Is Big and Salvation Lurks around the Corner

    Note: (still have about 30 to see on must watch list incl. Wendy & Lucy, Tell No One, Edge of Heaven, Hunger, The Changeling, Vicky Cristina Barcelona, Me & Orson Welles, The Fall, Rachel Getting Married, Ballast, My Winnipeg, Man on Wire, The Class, Flight of the Red Balloon, A Christmas Tale, Gommorah, Boy A, Up the Yangtze, Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, I’ve Loved You So Long, Paranoid Park, 4 mths, 3 wks & 2 days, Chop Shop, Encounters at the End of the World, The Black Balloon)

    N’

  3. Kevin the movie as I understand it is set in 1939-40?

    The tribulations of Elizabeth II that you mention aren’t include are they?

    The movie looks like a great “adjucnt” to Victoria

  4. Miglo: Yes! It is very boy’s own at times. Royal spin is as old as emperors and kings so be prepared for it.

    Min: Pearce is just average.

    Nasking: some excellent choices but haven’t seen (or heard of ) ’em all.

    TB: It’s basically the 30s. ERII as a child. Critical hindsight!

  5. Nas, I’ve seen some of those movies you plan to watch, and they’re all good. The ones I am talking about are:

    Appaloosa
    Gran Torino
    Body of Lies
    Taken
    The Reader
    The Changling . . .

    All great movies. I hear that In Bruges is also a great movie.

    I was disappointed with Dark Knight and the Indiana Jones movie – maybe my expectations were too high in regards to the last one.

    Started watching Wall E but id did nothing for me.

    Can recommend some great movies from the last couple of years that I rate very high:

    Inglorious Bastards
    Felon
    The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
    Harry Brown.

    Each will shock you.

  6. “Inglorious Bastards
    Felon
    The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
    Harry Brown.”

    Thnx Migs…yes, I’ve seen Inglorious Bastards…superbly made action film…and Christoph Waltz’s performance as the charming, yet cunning, cruel & sadistic Col. Hans Landa deserved the acclaim it got.

    I’ve heard plenty of good things about Felon & Harry Brown…same for Striped Pyjamas, but unfortunately someone revealed the ending, in detail.

    So far from 2009 I’ve dug:

    Inglorious Bastards
    In the Loop (Thick of It crowd)
    Julie & Julia (oft luv films w/ cooking theme)
    In the Electric Mist
    The Bone Man
    Coraline
    Taking Woodstock (S’ & I really dug this..we experienced a U2 concert at similar “echoes” distance)
    Up (kid was sweeter than the ads revealed)
    District 9 (I know Migs you had some probs w/ this one)
    Star Trek (improved w/ 2nd viewing)
    A Serious Man
    Moon (odd but has its moments…more like an impactful sci-fi short story)
    Zombieland (good rollickin’ goresplat w/ funny moments)
    Watchmen (more thoughtful than the avg. graphic novel/comic-inspired film)
    The Boat that Rocked (enjoyed the “who’s the daddy” mystery)
    2012 (more exciting that some reviewers had us believe)
    Land of the Lost (good fun)
    A Perfect Getaway (quite suspenseful)
    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
    State of Play
    Adventureland (worthwhile romcom)
    Underworld: Rise of the Lycans
    9 (interesting apocalyptic tale…bit depressing but good animation & action at times)
    Pandorum (not upliftin sci-fi, nor was Alien…not nearly as good tho…but some heart stoppin’ moments)
    Home (doco)
    Sita Sings the Blues (great animation, very colourful)
    Terminator Salvation (good lunchtime or late late nite fair)
    Funny People (thought I’d hate this but Adam Sandler does a good job)
    X-Men Origins: Wolverine (bloody good action, cold as ice)
    Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (fun lunchtime flick)

    I’ve only watched about two-thirds of my MUST SEE list, so I imagine this list will change a fair bit.

    N’

  7. That’s a crying shame about The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, Nas. You’ve been robbed of the pleasure of watching an outstanding movie. Damn big mouth.

    2012 is a fabulous flick with great special effects. I enjoyed the movie more than Knowing, and a hell of a lot more than Avatar.

    Agree with Hans Landa’s performance; it left me speechless. He took dramatic acting to a new level.

  8. “2012 is a fabulous flick with great special effects. I enjoyed the movie more than Knowing, and a hell of a lot more than Avatar.”

    Migs, Sanqween & I would have to agree…we were exhausted after watchin’ 2012. Avatar didn’t live up to our expectations…too hyped. Same for Knowing.

    N’

  9. Best *Titanic* movie

    “A Night to Remember” starring Kenneth More … B&W (unfortunately for some – we luv ’em!)

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    You buggers – keep list of the movies you’ve seen?

    … and want to see!

    My daughter just bought me a copy of “To Hell and Back” Audie Murphy’s *biography* – I’m a big fan of “babyface” … hard to find his movies though – TV (GEM?) just had Fort Petticoat on

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    Kevin, I had figured out the plot of The Sixth Sense within about ten minutes – still one of my favourite movies …

    … had the house to myself today watched Battle of the Bulge – with the sound UP! Fab!

  10. “I didn’t see that coming either. The Sixth Sense”

    I accidentally read the ending out from a film mag…Sanqween just about killed me. 🙂

    “You buggers – keep list of the movies you’ve seen?
    … and want to see!”

    Also lists of sci-fi books, recipes, TV shows, music by years, etc…I used to have extensive ones of directors & cinematographers when I was younger…”man of lists” S’ calls me.

    It’s a good way of rememberin’ what I need to record or buy. Evokes good memories too. And handy when some top 10 lists go up on blogs. 🙂

    N’

  11. Too easy, Migs … mmmmm

    Favourite rodents … ??

    … OK I know exactly who is at the top of your list!

    Neil! LOL! LOL!

    OK, seriously, JH is a bit more rodenty … LOL!

  12. Saw “To Hell and Back” at Elsternwick Hoyts Cinema circa 1957.

    First nighttime cinema I remember: ‘Mutiny on the Bounty’ circa 1955 in Yarram. Been hooked ever since.

    Favorite still Casablanca. Keeping DVD for rainy day. Bogey rules!

  13. To Hell and Back is a regular on Fox Classics. Apparently Audie Murphy was America’s most decorative war hero in WW2. Second was a bloke called Neville Brand, who also went on to act, landing a lead role in Laredo. His first movie (I think) was in Love Me Tender where he had the privilege of shooting Elvis Presley.

    One of my favourite movies is the the 1951 classic The Day The Earth Stood Still. Another is the 1964 comedy A Bedtime Story with David Niven and Marlon Brando. It was pathetically remade later as Dirty Rotten Scoundrels.

Leave a Comment

