There’s new & newish too (and even old is new again)

Where does the time go? So so many say…as they, we hunt thru our tapes, vinyls, cds searchin’ for memories…that “just right” feelin’ that embraced us sooo long ago.

It’s a great way of escapin’ the now, turn up the volume on a few old favourites…perhaps add some grog…mebbe a spliff…or some other mind alterin’ drug of choice…and yer on yer way to surfin’ the waves of nostalgia. And those wicked characters that too oft walk yer life, FEAR, STRESS, LOSS, DISEASE  get a bumpy ride…sometimes they’re thrown into the swell, banished. For as long as the ride lasts.

On the odd occasion they play a role, are part of the mix…but are mutated…confronted…bring a tear…a shout of defiance…a hole to descend into…or even cherished.

But sometimes we get stuck.

The radio stations know it. Time & financial pressures like family & work commitments ensure that many of us don’t move on. We listen to the same old stuff…over & over again. We become apathetic by way of  our music listenin’ behaviour. The vinyls only get dusty ’cause we’ve bought the CD versions of the same LPs.

Perhaps we’re even scared to move on? In case we feel like strangers in a strange land of alien music. Feel like an ancient creature that’s strolled into a megalopolis of sounds we barely recognise.

But search…and listen carefully enuff & you’ll realise that in many ways old is new again. And that plenty of recent music, if shown the same amount of attention as yer old beloveds, will not only embrace you…but play a significant role in yer life…and one day…will become part of the multiplicity of nostalgic waves…that are part of a musically adventurous & rounded life.  

I enjoy walkin’ to this one:

Deerhunter – Desire Lines – (from Halcyon Digest) – 2010

A new to newish music thread. A journey to new lands…where sometimes old is new again…

N’

By nasking Posted in Music

37 comments on “There’s new & newish too (and even old is new again)

  1. “I don’t know any new songs”

    Ouch! Someone glue ya to the 60s Migs? 🙂

    Til later…over to YOU:

    Wooden Shjips – Motorbike (Dos) – 2009

  2. Nice one Migs. And congrats.

    BTW, all songs played are from CDs I picked up recently. You know me & music. 🙂

    One more before I head off into the wild reddish green yonder:

    The Warlocks-The Midnight Sun (The Mirror Explodes) – 2009

  3. Hi Nas!
    Here’s one my son told me about recently. I do actually like stuff like this(Big Basement Jaxx and Chemical Bros. fan) :

  4. Nas,
    The Warlocks were a bit like Musical Mogadon. 😦
    Or, music to slit your wrists by. I can’t quite decide which. 😉

  5. ‘Me like ‘Motorbike’.’

    I AGREE!

    I haven’t found too much new that I like, but I did like this, perhaps mainly because the singer sings, and doesn’t try to sound like cookie monster

  6. “The Warlocks were a bit like Musical Mogadon.”

    Hillbilly, I like Flying Saucer Attack & Spacemen 3 & JMC & drone bands…therefore The Warlocks goes down nicely for me.

    I try to listen to a song/band/style a few times before judging…one reason I guess I’ve got thousands of albums. 🙂

    Glad ya both enjoyed “Motorbike”.

    I play these songs very loudly…and find my mind soars…no thoughts of “slitting wrists” included. 🙂

    Somethin’ from France:

    Alcest – Solar Song (Ecailles De Lune) – 2010

  7. No offence meant, re Warlocks, Nas.
    Going on what you have said about who you like, you’d be a fanboy for My Bloody Valentine then?

  8. “It helps to have offspring that sprung from a musician father”

    Cool. I have a cat that provides input by waggin’ his tail to the beat. Apollo’s picky. 🙂

    The Radio Dept. – Heaven’s On Fire

  9. “No offence meant, re Warlocks, Nas.
    Going on what you have said about who you like, you’d be a fanboy for My Bloody Valentine then?”

    None taken Hillbilly. Just diff strokes for diff follks.

    You’d be right on the My Bloody Valentine bit. Fell in luv w/ them back in ’91…same time as Ride & Slowdive. Used to hit the CD rental shops they had in Brissie back then. They were quite a find. At first I thought the CD was broke. 🙂 But after a few listens they dug their way into my core.

    “Jungle Blues”…nice one Hillbilly. It’s got me wantin’ a beer…but I’ll start w/ a bloody mary…needs me tabasco, vodka & spicey vege juice hit. 🙂

    Andrew Bird – Fitz and the Dizzyspells

  10. Hillbilly, wee bit of New Order sound in Radio Dept methinks.

    Serena Maneesh – Drive Me Home The Lonely Nights

  11. Don’t use youtubes embedding, just copy the link from your browsers address bar, and don’t type anything after it

    like this 😉

Leave a Comment

