Bernardi

It looks like we’re stuck with him

Just when you think you have nothing to write about, someone comes up with a comment that fills in the gaps for you. I thank Kaye Lee for coming up with one such comment just posted by her on The AIMN. Of Cory Bernardi Kaye Lee wrote:

We are stuck with Bernardi for another 6 years. In my opinion he should be sacked. He is obviously spending all his time writing hateful books and blogs whilst collecting a handsome salary from Australian taxpayers as well as funding from places like the Heartland Institute and the American Legislative Exchange Council. I cannot believe that he is representing the views of the majority of people who elected him. How do you measure the productivity of a politician? Are there any safeguards to protect us from nutters like this man or do we have to just put up with him spreading his hatred and fear and hope that the people of South Australia wake up in 6 years time?

I was unaware that he receives funding from the Heartland Institute and the American Legislative Exchange Council and I was unaware that he wrote a blog, although I don’t mind the latter, of course. Many politicians have their own blog as it is a way of engaging with their constituents, although if his blog is anything like his Facebook page then it will be off-limits to anyone who holds opposing opinions to his own.

But what struck me most about Kaye Lee’s comment was this sentence: I cannot believe that he is representing the views of the majority of people who elected him. Quite frankly, neither can I. As an ex-South Australian I must confess surprise that the likes of Bernardi can muster enough votes to win his seat. How mis-informed must they be? I cannot for one moment believe he represents South Australians. The same can be said of Christopher Pyne. Do people of his electorate truly realise what an incompetent minister he is?

I’ve highlighted just one sentence from Kaye Lee’s comment but she also raises some valid questions, such as How do you measure the productivity of a politician? Good question. How do you?

She has given us much to talk about.

Over to you.